HiTOP Text Logo

The Hierarchical Taxonomy of Psychopathology


About the hitop consortium

The Hierarchical Taxonomy of Psychopathology (HiTOP) consortium was formed in 2015 as a grassroots effort to articulate a fully empirical classification of psychopathology to aid clinical practice and mental health research. It is structured around ten workgroups that each focus on a stream of research. The consortium was organised by Roman Kotov, Robert F. Krueger, and David Watson, who together with the chairs of the ten workgroups form an Executive Committee for the Consortium.

At inception the Consortium included 40 psychologists and psychiatrists who had made substantial scientific contributions to the classification of psychopathology. This team published the first version of the HiTOP model in 2017 (Kotov et al. 2017). The consortium has grown substantially since then; it currently includes 192 nosologists with diverse backgrounds. You can find more information about each of the workgroups below, as well as a full list of current Consortium members.

The HiTOP Consortium values diversity and is committed to the recruitment and inclusion of members from diverse and underrepresented backgrounds. We believe that a diverse membership, including individuals with different lived experiences and identities (e.g., those defined by gender, race and ethnicity, nationality, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, disability), is critical to achieving our aims of understanding the experience of psychopathology as a shared human condition.

Consortium Members

The first HiTOP meeting in May 2016 at University of Chicago. Left to right: Ashley Watts, Kate Thomas, Kelsie Forbush, Monika Waszczuk, Lee Anna Clark, David Watson, Kathrin Herzhoff, David Zald, Miri Forbes, Tom Widiger, Don Lynam, Roman Kotov, Jennifer Tackett, Kathleen Reardon, Chris Patrick, Bob Krueger, Stephanie Mullins-Sweatt, Ben Lahey, Avante Smack, Irwin Waldman, Camilo Ruggero, Holly Poore, Nick Eaton.

Get Involved in the HiTOP Effort

New members are always welcome